Episode 42. In which I rant about iPods.

Not necessarily iPods, it could be any kind of MP3 player.  Or laptop, or Walkman even, whatever, anything that makes noise, that you carry around with you.

I have a Walkman, a 20GB Sony MP3 player, and some cheap earphones I got because they let me hear my music.  They have a certain feature that makes me really, really love them, for two separate reasons, and I will get to this in a minute.

The people that get the same trains as me, and I don’t mean all of them, I mean a few of them, but more than I would prefer, are what I would call inconsiderate morons.  Everyone seems to have a music player these days, and it feels like when I’m on my way to work and trying to wake up, or on my way home and trying to wind down, I am stuck sitting next to most of them.

At one point a few weeks ago I felt like I was in a game of Minesweeper.  I could hear three distinct tunes playing, and I knew that there were three people around me who were playing their music offensively loudly.  However, since I there were six people in my immediate vicinity and several more in the general area, and I had no way of knowing which ones to give evil looks to, and potentially to have words with.

There’s a guy that gets my train who listens to podcasts or something, what I can hear coming from his iPod is voices talking.  It’s too loud, and I wish I didn’t have to hear it, but every so often this middle-aged man cracks a smile or gives a little chuckle at something he’s clearly just heard, and I like that, so I don’t mind him so much.

There’s a girl that gets my train who listens to music, every day, what I hear from her iPod is Bon Jovi, and Shania Twain, and all kinds of music that I’m sure if I was washing up I’d jig around to, but on the train I’m really not into.  She also always keeps her handbag right beside her, taking up seat space she shouldn’t take up.  I do mind her.

I do believe that it should be possible to listen to your music as loud as you want without offending people, but it seems to be really difficult in practice.  People play their music too loud, to the point where I don’t understand why they aren’t in pain, and they also use shit earphones.   I don’t know why it is that most earphones leak tinny sounding crap into the atmosphere, and I could really do without it.  I’d almost prefer them to just carry a frigging ghetto blaster.

Almost.

As I said, I have a Walkman.  I don’t know how loud it goes in terms of decibels, but the volume control goes up to 30.  When I listen to my Walkman in public, unless I’m walking from A to B through noisy, crowded streets, I have the volume control set to 3.

And this is where I get to my wonderful earphones.

They are conical, with funny rubbery kind of covers for the bit that goes in your ear.  This means that when I play my music, I don’t have to have it full blast, because it doesn’t leak, it goes straight to my hearing apparatus.  This also means that even when I do play it loud, it has to be really, really loud before it leaks out and annoys my neighbours.

The other good bit about my earphones is that even when I don’t have my music on, because I don’t want to listen to music all the time, I can use them as earplugs.  They do block out a lot of the tinny shit that’s floating around the train, and although they’re not perfect, they help an awful, awful lot.

I love my earphones.

Diabetic moment of the day

I nearly went to Starbucks this morning.  But didn’t.  Partly because I couldn’t face being that close to their blueberry cheesecake and not eating any of it.

Leave a Reply

