Episode 95. In which the thing that makes dragons better than snakes is the opposable thumbs.

We watched a movie tonight.  A DVD that My Man bought today, presumably during his lunchbreak.  Apparently in a petrol station, going by the quality of the movie.

That’s not fair.  I mean, it’s totally a B-movie, of the type I haven’t seen since Lake Placid, but it was still brilliant.

When I say brilliant, I have to admit I don’t have a clue what happened.  To start with I had the excuse that I was in the kitchen keeping an eye on the meatball sauce while it was thickening, but from about 20 minutes in I was sitting right here in front of the TV and I have no clue what was going on.  Something about a girl with a birthmark like a dragon tattoo, and the guy out of Roswell had floppy hair and had to save her or something, while a massive snake was wandering round (I don’t even know what city it was based in) trying to kill her.  There was a Shredder character, and the Splinter character was Jim Rockford (AKA Daddy Petrelli).  I only saw him a couple of times, and I don’t know what happened when Splinter met Shredder, although I know they did meet cos there was a comedy moment when an old lady tried to follow Shredder through a wire mesh and just headbutted it.

Anyway, come the end, the big fight scene, the grand finale, there was a big Godzilla and Mothra style fight between two giant snakes.  The good snake was slightly paler with blue eyes, and the bad snake was darker with red eyes. Of course.  And the fight was really brutal, they were really tearing strips off each other.

Suddenly the girl somehow chucked her life force into the good snake, and it kind of shed its skin, and became a dragon.  But a proper dragon, not some big old dinosaur with wings, it was a snake but with arms and legs and antlers (yes, antlers), and when the bad snake bit it again it grabbed it (at which point I jumped up and shrieked “opposable thumbs!”) and threw it around.

Things continued on in that vein for a while and eventually there was one final clash.  Which culminated in me and My Man sitting in awed silence for a moment until I said “oh, I’d forgotten about the fire thing”.

All in all, we will be watching this film again, in an attempt to work out what the hell was going on.  Probably repeatedly.

Diabetic moment of the day

Today I e-mailed my diabetic nurse because I’m worried about my blood sugars being consistently higher than they should be.  I don’t know whether it’s because of my cold or whether I’m just deteriorating and need to up my baseline doses.  However, I still don’t know, because she didn’t reply.

Leave a Reply

