Episode 119. In which I discuss, in brief, the effects of Christmas on the internet

The other day I went onto a website which is for customers of a particular system we use at work, I logged in and went looking for instructions on how to change one little aspect of the webview, because I am Systems Librarian and that’s my job.

This website is difficult to use. All the information is in documents that are downloadable from the website, but the documents aren’t searchable from the website. They must have hundreds of documents on there, and the only way to find the right document is to know the title and to know which section of the website they’ve put it under. This from a company who has decided on their own definition of the word ‘keyword’ that doesn’t match any definition I’ve ever heard.

I was hunting around, trying to find the document with the information I needed, from amongst all the pages full of documents, and one I clicked on, almost at random at this point because everything that was remotely logical had failed, the page loaded up and what should appear but snowflakes.  Snowflakes falling down the page from the toolbar ‘sky’.

A SNOWFLAKES ANIMATION.

At this point my reaction was along the lines of OH GOD SNOWFLAKES WHERE ARE THE INSTRUCTIONS I AM TRYING TO WORK HERE HOW DO I CHANGE THE WELCOME PAGE OH MY GOD THIS IS SUCH A TINY LITTLE THING WHY IS IT NOT ANYWHERE ON THIS WEBSITE AND WHY ARE THERE SNOWFLAKES INSTEAD?

(insert a few obscenities in there at random, you can’t go far wrong)
Please, internet, don’t do pretty pretty Christmas motifs unless you’re fairly confident your website users aren’t already tearing their hair out when they find them.

Diabetes moment of the day

Well, so far my diabetes moment has been that I had lemon curd on toast. This is cheating, cos lemon curd has sugar by the truckload. But lemon curd tastes nice, so there.

Leave a Reply

